Photo of smiling faces

Community Development Council (CDC)

The Community Development Council (CDC) is the coordinating body for the CDI national network. It is a nonprofit organization whose purpose is to establish professional standards through certification and training that will be recognized as valuable to both the community development practitioner and those who employ their services.

CDC was founded in 1995 to promote the advancement of standards of competence for community development professionals through accreditation of community development educational programs, professional certification, and the development of community leaders.

Support for the Council's activities comes from private and public sector sponsors and from fees generated by certification and accreditation services. It is not a membership organization but does maintain a registry of Professional Community and Economic Developers in good standing.

The CDC oversees the certification process through its board of trustees and works collaboratively with the Community Development Institutes to deliver the full range of services leading to certification. The 16-member board is comprised of representatives from private industry, government, educational institutions, and non-profits. SEDC serves as the administrative home for CDC.

CDI History

2016-17 CDC Board Officers

Chairman

Kay Fitzsimons
Director, CDI Texas
Executive Director, Community Leadership and Engagement
Lone Star College
kay.l.fitzsimons@lonestar.edu

Vice Chairman

Ivy Owen, PCED, EDFP
Executive Director
Fort Chaffee Redevelopment Authority
iowen@chaffeecrossing.com

Secretary

Amy Whitehead, PCED
CDI Central Director
Director, Center for Community and Economic Development
University of Central Arkansas
amyw@uca.edu

Treasurer

Gene Stinson, CAE, PCED, CEcD, HLM
President
Southern Economic Development Council
gene@sedc.org

Board Trustees

Michael Dougherty, PCED
Extension Specialist/Extension Professor
West Virginia University Extension Service
michael.dougherty@mail.wvu.edu

L. Steve Jones, PCED
Site Consultant
Arkansas Economic Development Commission
sjones@arkansasedc.com

Ray Laughter
Vice President of Business Development
Caldwell Companies
rlaughter@caldwellcos.com

Christopher Merrett, Ph.D.
CDI Midwest Director
Professor, Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs at Western Illinois University
CD-Merrett@wiu.edu

Jerry Miller
CDI Northwest Director
Economic Development Specialist
Idaho Commerce
jerry.miller@commerce.idaho.gov

Carolyn Motl, PCED
Owner
The Motl Group
cmotl@att.net

Robert Pittman, PCED
Senior Principal
Janus Economics, LLC
rpittman@janueconomics.org

Sam Powers

Community and Economic Development Director City of Asheville
spowers@ashevillenc.gov

 

Skip Smart, PCED
Director, Community Development
Louisiana Economic Development
smart@LA.gov

Gloria Zacharias, PCED
Seismic Program and Policy Coordinator
Oregon Business Development Department
gloria.zacharias@oregon.gov

Honorary Advisory Member

Vic Lafont, PCED
Executive Director
South Louisiana Economic Council
vic.lafont@nicholls.edu