Photo of smiling faces

Community Development Council (CDC)

The Community Development Council (CDC) is the coordinating body for the CDI national network. It is a nonprofit organization whose purpose is to establish professional standards through certification and training that will be recognized as valuable to both the community development practitioner and those who employ their services.

CDC was founded in 1995 to promote the advancement of standards of competence for community development professionals through accreditation of community development educational programs, professional certification, and the development of community leaders.

Support for the Council's activities comes from private and public sector sponsors and from fees generated by certification and accreditation services. It is not a membership organization but does maintain a registry of Professional Community and Economic Developers in good standing.

The CDC oversees the certification process through its board of trustees and works collaboratively with the Community Development Institutes to deliver the full range of services leading to certification. The 16-member board is comprised of representatives from private industry, government, educational institutions, and non-profits. SEDC serves as the administrative home for CDC.

CDI History

CDC Board Officers

Chair

Kay Fitzsimons
Director, CDI Texas
Executive Director, Community Leadership Programs
Lone Star College
kay.l.fitzsimons@lonestar.edu

Vice-Chair

Shelby Fiegel, PCED
CDI Central Director
Managing Director, Center for Community and Economic Development
University of Central Arkansas
sfiegel@uca.edula

Secretary

Gloria Zacharias, PCED
Program and Policy Coordinator
Business Oregon
gloria.zacharias@oregon.gov

Treasurer

Gene Stinson, CAE, PCED, CEcD, HLM
President
Southern Economic Development Council
gene@sedc.org

Board Trustees

Robin Collins, PCED, CBO
Economic Development Director
City of Eagle (ID)
rcollins@cityofeagle.org

Jonathan Dean, PCED
Sr. Industrial Account Representative
Cleco Power LLC
Jonathan.dean@cleco.com

Michael Dougherty, PCED
Extension Specialist/Extension Professor
West Virginia University Extension Service
michael.dougherty@mail.wvu.edu

L. Steve Jones, PCED
Site Consultant
Arkansas Economic Development Commission
sjones@arkansasedc.com

Frank McCrady
President/CEO, East Montgomery County Improvement District
fmccrady@emctx.com

Christopher Merrett, Ph.D.
CDI Midwest Co-Director
Director, Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs Western Illinois University
CD-Merrett@wiu.edu

Jerry Miller
CDI Northwest Director
Economic Development Specialist
Idaho Commerce
jerry.miller@commerce.idaho.gov

Carolyn Motl, PCED
Owner
The Motl Group
cmotl@att.net

Ashley Olive
CDI Southeast
Interim Executive Director of Community Engagement
Director of College Relations / Adjunct Faculty
The University of Alabama
Ashley.olive@ua.edu

Robert Pittman, PCED
Senior Principal
Janus Economics, LLC
rpittman@janueconomics.org

Courtney Taylor, Ph.D., PCED
Vice President of Workforce and Economic Development
East Mississippi Community College
ctaylor@eastms.edu

Lisa Taylor, PCED
Economic Development Director
City of Durant (OK)
ltaylor@durant.org

Matthew Twyford, PCED
Director, Community Development Division
Arkansas Economic Development Commission
mtwyford@arkansasedc.com

Sandy Wittig, MBA
CDI Midwest Co-Director
Financial & HR Manager, Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs
Western Illinois University
sk-wittig@wiu.edu

 

 

Honorary Advisory Member

Vic Lafont, PCED
Executive Director, South Louisiana Economic Council
vic.lafont@nicholls.edu